"Closing My Eyes" - driving on the expressway at night - PLACE YOU FEEL CONTENT...

Directions:

Describe a place or environment where you are perfectly content. What do you do or experience there, and why is it meaningful to you?

Essay:

It's 10:59 PM with one hand out the window holding hands with the wind it feels like I'm racing through time but when I check the clock it's only been one minute. The slowness of time and the speed of light somehow makes me feel serene.

If I closed my eyes I would hear the whistling sound of various cars flying down the road, I would feel the rapid cold wind giving my arms and chest goosebumps, and my hair flying in every direction. If I open them I would see nothing but an open road in front of me, occasional bright red brake lights reminding me that I am not alone on this empty road.

Ever since August 2, 2013-the day I received my license I have felt a sense of comfort while driving on the expressway at night. Perhaps it's the one time during my day I'm left with just me and my thoughts. If my desires were safe I would close my eyes and let the world guide me, instead I blink slowly breathing in every ounce of artificial energy. Ironically the noisy, stressful expressway at night becomes my sanctuary allowing me to slow down time. When I turn right on 83rd and State street, merge left onto the expressway at that moment I start to feel and hear everything. Suddenly, I can hear every breathe I take, I can feel my heart beating, pulse racing and every drop of blood as it travels through my body. Music becomes anesthetics; numbing any emotion besides content. It becomes the fuel that drives me both metaphorically and literally. When I'm driving at night music isn't heard, it's felt. Suddenly the lyrics from Lana Del Rey's "Ride" give me shivers because I can feel her singing. There is a sort of euphoria in the feeling of having no fear or doubts. Nothing can compare to the unflustered feeling of driving sixty or seventy miles listening to the most serene sounds of my favorite artists... To me, it feels like flying.

Help:

Does it answer the prompt?

Is it too long?

It is descriptive?

Is it overall a good piece?