Classmates can have positive or negative impact on a child's behaviour at school

There is no denying that parents have much influence on a child's success at school. Many children just want to be like their parents. If the father of a child is a doctor, he is more likely to want to become a doctor. This way he will start to study biology and chemistry well at school. However, we cannot say that they are more important influence on a child's success in school. Classmates' role is more important in a child's life in this case. The reasons and examples listed below will strengthen my point of view.

First of all, classmates can help a child to do his or her lessons. As we know, parents are often very busy as they work most of the day, and they do not have time to help their children with their lessons. In this case, classmates are the best to do so. Actually, many classmates are best friends. As usual, children want their friends to study well and they can always give books to read in order to inspire them.

Secondly, children usually speak with their classmates about things which they do not speak with their parents. They have a lot in common, so they discuss about school events with each other. They may do either bad or good comments about a person from their school. For example, if one of friends does not like a teacher, he will tell his or her friends about it. And the friends are most likely to start hating the teacher too, as their friend is more likely to tell them bad stories about him or her.

To sum up, classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child's success at school. They can help their friends with learning and give good advice about how to do well at school. Besides, they can have a positive or negative impact on a child's behaviour at school.