Classmates vs parents; 'Teaching is the exalted duty than anyone could take'

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement classmates are a more important influence than parents on child's success in school?

Teaching is the exalted duty than anyone could take. Teaching could be in many places such as at school, university, or even at home. Furthermore, parents exert a lot of efforts to teach and explain things to their children during school periods. However, I disagree with the idea that parents could be the only teacher for their kids because parents can teach their children many things but classmates are more influence on children.

Classmates are more influence on children more than parents. Nowadays, children spend a long hours at their schools or university. Accordingly, they spend that time with their classmates playing, discussing, reading, studying together and exchanging their point of views. For instance, when I was at university, I used to share my experiences and ideas with my classmates. Each one of us is with the same age and came from different places around the country so each one of us has his own customs or tradition. When I was at school, my friends and I used to support and encourage each other. Thus by this different mixture of people I learnt a lot from them. Moreover, I used to accept advices from others more than my parents because I feel like I choose them to be my friends not the life force me to accept them.

In conclusion, children get affected from their classmates more than their parents. In my opinion, we have to give the right to our children to choose their friends but we have to pay more attention to them if they get the good things or bad things from them.