Cities need to preserve historic buildings or destroy and replace them?

Recently the Chinese government has approved a bill of rebuilding the Kashger old city, which is 1500years old and the main heritage of Uyghur culture, a significant culture of Central Asia. Although I confess that historical buildings have negative effect on urban landscape, I cannot visualize a city without its historical structure.

First of all, an old building can insinuate historical events which happened in the city. Old buildings, as a symbol of architectural heritage, memorize the significant episodes. When looking at the shabby Rome city, with its almost devastated temples, demolished palace, it is not hard to imagine the prosperous kingdom of the ancient Rome. We can also acknowledge that these buildings were ruined after the kingdom was vanquished by the enemy. Thus, historic buildings are one fundamental method by which we can learn about significant events in history.

Furthermore, historic buildings are the indispensable integrity of culture. For example, an old Arabic mosque is more likely have a geometric decoration style, while a Chinese traditional temple has a pitched roof and is made of wood. If we substitute our historic buildings with the modern one, isn't it similar with alternating our culture with the prevalent one?

Finally, it is our obligation to pass all historical buildings to the next generation. While it is true that we can transmit the civilization of our ancestors` by picture or in text form, which is vague and not authentic, we could also preserve the genuine buildings, tangible to the next generation. Only via the real trip to the Blue Mosque, Istanbul's imperial Mosque, are our next generations capable of acquainting an impressive view of the Turkish culture.

Nevertheless maintaining historic buildings needs a tremendous amount of money and old buildings are easily destroyed by earthquake, the cultural value of a historical building is worth preserving on economic grounds. To learn more about history, to more distinguish from other culture and for the next generations` sake, stop destroying the historic buildings!