Children under drug influences and solutions

According to the National Drug Strategy Household Survey of Australians aged 14-19 years, in 2010, about 20% of Australian High school's students between 12 -17 years old has tried an illicit drug. Another survey estimates that nearly 78,691 children who are under 12 years old live with at least one daily cannabis-used family member. Even though people realize and accept that Australia is the country in which illicit drugs are used widely, these statistics point out the true situation that it is not a minority of Australian young people who are affected by the drug's harmful influence. Thus, in order to consider the most effective solutions for this issue, this essay will discuss four parts: the definition of drugs, drugs' effect, the reason and solutions.

First and foremost, many people recognize that Australia is a drug-using society with fully understanding of every it's' angle. Yet, there people just wonder what drugs are and what they are classified. The definition of drug is any substance, solid, liquid or gas that gives drug-users several changes inside their body and brain. Thus, drugs usually are classified by their influence level on the mental system and legal status. For example, the drug which influences the central mental system has three main sorts: depressants, stimulants and hallucinogen. Furthermore, there are two kinds of drugs that have legal status and they are limited legal like tobacco or alcohol and Illegal drugs.

The effects of drugs depend on their type and a range of personal and environmental factors. However, if the object is the young generations, it always has a harmful effect by indirect or direct ways. In the article "Children and young people speak out about alcohol and drugs" by Holt in National Centre in HIV Social Research (2005), the writer uses several statistics to prove that the illicit drugs affect more and more to children's intelligence growth and can drive them to exposure to social evil, violence, and even the death, during their early life. For instance, 13 per cent of all deaths of Australian young people aged from 14 to 17 years old cause from alcohol. Moreover, the research proves that alcohol relates to the death of one Australian teenager and more than 60 injurious cases per week. On the other hand, by the indirect way, children who have drug-using parents are more likely to have problems with brain health and emotional control, behavior. Furthermore, they tend to become victims of child abuse and neglect.

Drug-using parents are not the only reason why children use drugs when they are fully grown, but also by several other causes may include: socializing, relaxation, boredom, avoiding physiological pain and experimentation. As a result, some enjoyable friend groups are using drug, teenagers can not resist the tempation from drug invasion because of respect, peer pressure and the demand not to be isolated from group..Furthermore, the others still have true need to escape from boredom which is happen frequently in modern life, so using drugs will help them relax and forget most of lasstitude from life's issues over a period of time. For similar reasons, some patients who have pain of illness over a long period always want to find the method to escape from the abuse of physical and mental. Moreover, some young people tend to look for several new experiences, feelings and they ready to try drug despite of some warnings.

The tactics to decrease drug use by young people cannot be achieved by authorities and the young alone; it also depends on families and the whole society. Thus, young people must be fully equipped with knowledge and understanding in order to prevent themselves and people around from harmful effects of alcohol and drugs under in any circumstances. The government should have the effective regulatory framework for these issues. For example, the states' responsibility is ready to decrease the vested interests of wine or tobacco industry by limiting their scale of operation. Furthermore, creating more opportunities and environments for the young aware why and how drugs harmful effect to social and themselves. There need more effort to provide support to parents to solve these problems. Parents' mission should have a clear message to their children that using drug must be illegal and limited. Some facts prove that the sooner children are controlled to use drugs, the less risk they will become drug addicted to drugs

In conclusion, in last hundred years, drugs always have been a serious threat to humanity, especially the young generation, so it is important to ask several questions : "what are drugs ?", "how do drugs affect to people?", "why do they attractive the young?" and "how do people solve this issue?" . On the other hand, in my point of view, drugs are not only a harmful medicine because some their positive function in physical, sports and so on, they still become toxic since people lose control of themselves and depend on drugs and become a drug addict.