Children learn language more easily if they start early in life.

Essay: Children growing up in this changing world will have to understand and speak more than one language. Even though education in a second language traditionally doesn't begin until later, evidence is mounting that children learn language more easily if they start early in life.

Do you agree or disagree?

_________________________________

Answer:

It is general knowledge that entering this ever-changing modern world demands new-comers enormous preparations, including the linguistic basis for future communication in workplace. It is also the rationale behind the parents' tendency to send children to language centre for the mastery of language at early age. From my perspectives, children's early exposure to English is of great benefits on account of its easier acquisition and hence, solid academic foundation.

First and foremost, giving education of English to children at early age possibly enables them to acquire a different language as easily and naturally as their mother tongue. To illustrate, learning English via such digitally animating studying devices as radio, songs, English tales and puzzles will largely promote their curiosity and interest in learning a new language. More importantly, with ideal learning conditions of zero stress and strain, children will feel comfortable without taking the studying too seriously; hence make the maximum use of their potentials. This modern learning approach, however, does not present itself in the conventional education system, where children have a passive exposure to learning English and more seriously, stressfully learn without additional practice.

In addition, the receipt of an early English education in such an ideal interactive conditions will lay the foundation for their later studying. Without doubt, the everyday communication with native speakers in both learning hours and outdoor activities will create tremendous benefits to children's pronunciation. Seeing that frequent practice will automatically establish a fixed way of pronouncing words, an early studying of English will develop good learning patterns for children later on. The same advantage manifests itself in the cultivation of vocabulary; therefore it is of great necessity to nurture the mastery of vocabulary as early as possible.

Aside from the indisputable benefits of the early acquisition of English, it is, however, worthy of serious consideration about the appropriate and effective teaching method. It is advisable that parents not place too much pressure on children to become a genius or a master of English at first place, given its worst case of eradicating the initial interest and inspiration found in the language. Instead, parents should make a great endeavor to create interactive learning conditions, including frequent communication with native speakers or the installment of English learning aids and so forth.

In the final analysis, it is clear that learning English at early age provides young learners with enormous benefits. Not only does it enable children to easily acquire English by instinct but it also forms the basis for children's future development. Also, it is suggested that people take my proposal of an ideal teaching method into consideration so as to have the most effective strategy of teaching children English.