IELTS: Children should learn foreign language at primary school; 'hard to focus'

task 2: some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Is it better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school? This question is becoming a commonly issue in the society. We should compare the advantage of this with the disadvantages.

In my opinion, the advantages obviously outweigh the disadvantages. At first, the younger a child is, the faster he (or she) learns new stuff. A primary school student is much more imaginative than a secondary school student, and pupils are eager to accept fresh things. Moreover, pupils have fewer lessons than the secondary school students who must take time on history, geography, and so on. Pupils have only three to five lessons to take.

Apparently, there are advantages for the middle school students of learning foreign languages. For instance, they have stronger self-control ability than pupils, so that they can really focus on learning. However, middle school students are easier to regard learning as boring things, which leads learning less efficiently. Meanwhile, they must deal with a couple of lessons in a term. The time they can spend on language is really limited.

To conclude, students should begin learning a new language at primary school. Although as a child, he or she may hard to focus on study, parents and teachers can guide them by effective methods.