IELTS- children development and modern games

Some people believe that modern children's games negatively affect the

development of their skills compared to traditional games. To what extent do

you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that nowadays children's games are totally different with traditional games that kids entertained with. Modern games such as computer games, wii, nontendo and so-on have attracted children as well as families. Despite, causing a great number of negative effects, still they have a massive market in toys industry. One of these negative effects aims children social and physical skills development.

Children physical abilities are not develop properly since; they are sitting in front of a computer for hours and play a game without any movement. Therefore, they do not experience different physical activities to improve their move and develop them. For example, they play golf with wii but they can not play golf in the real life. Also, they are not able to compete with a real person to recognise their strengths and weaknesses.

Moreover, these kids have no social connection with their friends; consequently they can not practice social skills such as, communication, sharing, solving social problems and so-on. Therefore, all these undeveloped skills cause great problems in their adulthood. For instance, they would have problem with team work, could not communicate effectively with their colleagues.

In contrast, in traditional games kids used to play together to do running, cycling, roping and other activities, which not only make them healthier but also help them to learn new physical and social skills. For instance, they were discovering new games, rules and regulations in their little society. They were learning about activity and new moves. More important, they were not isolated to a room without connection with other kids and practicing communication at early stage.

In summary, I personally believe that, the modern games have a great impact on youngsters in the modern society and affect them vastly. Thus, parents have a massive responsibility to limited computer games and encourage children to play with group of friends rather than a device.