IELTS-Should children cooperative spirit and a competitive mind

I am going to take my IELTS test two weeks later and I really appreciate your comments and suggestions.

Topic:

Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion..

Answer:

These days, people are having a hard time reaching consensus on whether children should be taught to have a sense of cooperation or a notion of competition. I will discuss both sides in this debate.

Those who insist that a sense of cooperation in children should be advanced have two reasons. First, it is beneficial to children's psychological health. Recently a research involved 300 or so primary school students shows that those who are more cooperative perform better in communicating with the others and so more popular among classmates while some who show intensive notions of competition suffered loneliness or even isolation to some extent. What's more, large-scale production and project,such as genetic engineering、manned space flight and environment protection, all demands for a spirit of teamwork and an ability of coordinating, which need to be cultivated from childhood.

Admittedly, competition becomes unprecedentedly stiff in present day and age. accordingly, there are many tend to think that a sense of competition should be developed as priority during childhood, otherwise children, when growing up to be adults, would have to encounter failure frequently. From my perspective, I will not deny the importance of individual competence. Nevertheless, we should be aware that no single person goes through with everything and never makes a mistake. Only in a united team can individual achieve his best because his or her drawbacks can be composited for by others. By that I mean, without a capacity of cooperating, one can hardly survive from the rat race.

In a nutshell, I believe both a cooperative spirit and a competitive mind are essential for a child; however, the former outweighs the later. Therefore, parents and teachers should pay more attention to instruct children how to cooperate with rather compete against each other.