Cheerleading Is a Sport - 7th grade essay worth 20% of my grade

Debate Essay - Is Cheer-leading a Sport?

Some people say that cheerleading isn't a sport, some people say it is. When people think of cheerleading, the first thing that comes to mind is a sideline cheerleader, their main goal is to entertain a crowd and lead them with team cheers, which shouldn't be considered a sport. On the other hand, competitive cheerleading is a sport because it meets all three laws of defining something as a sport, it's a physical activity that involves propelling a mass through space or overcoming the resistance of a mass, you compete against another opponent, and it is governed by rules that define the time, space, purpose, and conditions under which a winner is declared.

Cheerleading is a sport because it is a physical activity that involves propelling a mass through space. A huge part of cheerleading is stunting. A stunt is a moved performed by a group of people the group consists of a flyer, two bases, a back spot, and sometimes a front spot. A flyer is the person being put in the air, the bases are lifting her, the spots watch the flyer to make sure she doesn't fall and sometimes helps out with the stunt. The spot is rarely ever allowed to touch the flyer. During practice, the athletes are required to lift weights and bench-press. Weight lifting is required by the IASF (International All-Stars Federation).

In cheerleading you also compete against other opponents. There are three different types of competitions. Small competitions, Large competitions, and Bid competitions. Small competitions are local competitions in which you compete against teams in your own province or state. Large competitions are competitions where you travel around your continent and compete against teams on your coast. Bid competitions are competitions you get invited to from large competitions.

It is governed by rules that define the time, space, purpose and conditions under which a winner is declared. In cheerleading there is a time limit of 2:30 min. In that time you have to cover dance, jumps, tumbling, stunts, pyramids, and tosses. They have a regulation mat size of 42' by 54', with a two foot border. Each competition has a different scoresheet based on the six components of cheerleading.

In conclusion, cheerleading is a sport because it meets all of the laws stating that is a sport. It is a physical activity that involves propelling a mss through the air, you compete against another opponent and it is governed by rules that define the time, space, purpose, and conditions under which a winner is declared.