Cheap Labour - allowing unemployed to work is a good way to help them to pass their poverty line

Question:

Some people believe that unemployed people should be made to work for their welfare/benefit payments. Others, however, see this as cheap labor.

Discuss the possible advantages and disadvantages of making unemployed people take any job.

Do you believe that making unemployed people work is a good idea?

Answer:

As the world is more competitive, the number of unemployment is growing. This is the reason why some people believe that unemployed people should be made to work for their benefit payments. However, others argue that this is a way to create cheap labor. While people believe that this trend has merits and demerits, I would argue that it has more advantages than disadvantages.

It is believed that if unemployed people is made to work, it will decrease the number of people who under the poverty line as they can earn money even though the salary is cheap, and it is better than becoming an unemployment. A 2013 research of Keele university shows that the number of the poor in several countries like India and Brazil which are made unemployed people to work was decrease slightly in the over two decades. It causes many countries trying to apply this trend. Consequently, it becomes a significant solution to decrease the number of the poor in some countries.

While it is believed that this trend can help people to increase their income, quality of employees is not becoming a predominant concern for some companies as people take any job beyond their skills. Study shows that more than 2,000 companies which is made unemployed people to work do not provide their employees a training so as to give them basic skills. It affects the quality of the employees who work in those companies. It means this trend will give a detrimental effect for employee's quality.

It is imperative that this trend will help the government to decrease the number of unemployment. Likewise, it will help people to pass through the poverty line. Even though it is a good method to help unemployed people, the training of employees have to become a priority in order to provide high quality employees and prevent the cheap labor as they have quality in their discipline.

All in all, despite the disadvantages of making unemployed people to work, it will be a good method to help the poor to pass their poverty line. It is imperative that to prevent unemployed people becoming a cheap labor, they have to give basic training so as to improve their quality.