IELTS--the characteristics we are born vs. our personality and development

Topic: Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life.

Which do you consider to be the major influence.

It has been debated over centuries whether the innate characteristics or the postnatal experiences we have in life play a dominant role in influencing our personality and development.

A research indicates that characteristics we are born with have much more influences. Children would inherite some of the characteristics from their parents, which is inevitable. These characteristics may include some good qualities such as gentleness, patience, fast response, and endurances, whereas some bad quality such as impatience, bad temper and lack of concentration. For example, a great tennis player would not only be required to have a good response but also to be mentally stable under pressure, and this is the quality largely determined natually.

However, not every job requires the exact same people, that is why we see so many different people accomplish a job in the same quality but in very different ways. Another reseach indicates that early and postnatal experience such as education can alter our character in a dramatic way. A study on a girl raised by wolves shows that, though in the shape of human, the girl behaved exactly like wolves, and the very little personality born with human extinguished during the period. There is also another theory about how the early education can build the excellence within a child. With the proper guidence a child can keep and impove those good quality and may also abandon the bad ones. Also in our later experiences as a grown up, our characteristics were influenced subtly by the world around us. Certain incidents such as disasters can help us change our way of seeing the world and dealing matters. The ability to learn from the outside world and reform our mind and soul is essentially what human distinguish from animals.

To sum up, we admit the natual characteristics born with us are important as some talents can never be replaced, nevertheless can we ignore the experiences we have in life that would contribute a lot more to our personality and development.