Characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality n development

Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life.

Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often a hot topic of debate that a person's personality is majorly influenced with the characteristics with which he/she is born than with his overall life experiences. While the debate may continue for ages, I believe that a child personality cannot be said to be only determined by his childhood traits. If this would have been true then all the personality development centers would have shut down by now.

There are many debatable reasons for this, few of which can be discussed here. Firstly, if we consider that a person's personality is mainly influenced by his traits with which he is born, then we are completely ignoring the importance of education and society in our life. As a child grows up, he comes in contact with lot of things which shapes his personality. His logical reasoning capacity develops and he enters the state of judgment about why a thing is wrong or right.

If a child is naughty during his childhood, nobody can claim that he will remain the same when he grows up. Similarly if we try to do a back calculation, by seeing a criminal, nobody can tell for sure that the person had this kind of criminal traits since birth.

Secondly, Experience matters a lot. In every sphere of life it is "THE MOST" important thing for any person. A childhood trait cannot determine whether a person will be a leader or not, it is his experience in the relevant field along with real life situations and struggles, that determines his way forward in life.

Hence, in conclusion, I would like to say that experience is everything for a person's life. It makes you or breaks you but it is always with you and always teaches you an important lesson in life.