IELTS TASK 2: Challenges and Strategies of People who Move to New Cities or New Country

People today move to new cities or new countries more than ever before. What challenges do they experience? What strategies are there to meet these challenges?

Migration is a common term since a long time ago. In Indonesia, there is a massive transmigration in Soeharto's Period while many Javanese was encouraged to move to Sumatra, Kalimantan and Sulawesi islands. Due to the development of technology made communication become easier, the migration trend is more common than before. However, there are some possible problems that will be faced by the migrants and the strategies that can be used to solve the problems.

As a new person at a new area, we indeed are not familiar with the conditions and cultures at that area. There is a simple example: we have to ask someone about a direction if we lost on some unknown road because we are not too familiar with the way. It is also happening where we live in a new place. However, it can be solved by commute with some communities at that place. That is may be a reason why every new student has to present in orientation event of the university. The universities want to make the new comer easier to adapt with a new place. Thus, it also can be used for new migrants. They could join some community to know more about the place where they live.

The next challenge is missing their home or their old place. Usually, people difficult to move to the place where the culture is totally different with their own. They'll miss their old art and culture which hard to find in their new place. To solve this challenge, people usually create a community where the members are people who originated from some same region. In university, especially in Indonesia, there are some same region communities such as Javanese, Sudanese, Macassares community. They are uniting to keep their art and culture such as their vernacular and dances, and also to heal their homesick. Maybe that is why, when I have a trip to Lampung 2 months ago, I found some populations in Lampung use Javanese Language.

Hence, migration is a common act nowadays. Many people would move for some reasons like study, work and so forth. Indeed, they will find some obstacles to adapt in the new place in the first time of their move. However, all of the obstacles can be solved by communication ability of humans. There is a fact stated that human is social creature. So, we can solve our problem by socialize and communicate with others.