It's certainly true that happiness is an essential component of every human life - IELTS

Happiness is considered very important in life.

Why is it difficult to define?

What factors are important in achieving happiness?

It's certainly true that happiness is an essential component of every human life. However, I believe that finding a definition of happiness is not an easy task and there are many factors to consider on the way to achieve happiness.

It seems to me that every individual has a unique set of characteristics and therefore, a different opinion of life. For that reason, generalizations about life and happiness can not be valid for everyone. For example, while a materialistic person can consider an expensive gift as a reason to be happy, same gift can be interpreted in a negative way. Furthermore, in my opinion, the life itself is not a stable organism so that definitions are always subject to change with changing opinions of individuals which can come with age, education, or new social situations.

On the other hand, plenty of reasons play an important role to obtain happiness. Firstly, I believe that health is the primary factor to sustain before seeking happiness because in my view, there is no room for joy without a healthy life. Secondly, certain survival needs such as shelter and food must be met for someone to be happy. Lastly, one should have a close social environment to share his happiness. In other words, happiness to be not shared is not a happiness.

In conclusion, even though it's difficult to make a clear definition of happiness due to changing characteristics of the life and there are many factors can affect people's happiness, it's clear that every individual needs happiness in life.