Should cell phones or pagers be allowed in class?

What do you think? Should cell phones or pagers be allowed in class?

Some teachers believe that cell phones and beepers should be prohibited from school, whereas others think children need them. It is a controversial question whether mobile phones and pagers should be banned in class. In my view, I suppose that children had better not use such means of communication because they may disrupt children's classroom and break their concerntration. In this essay, I will analyze my point of view.

One of the problems with cell phones and pagers is that they can be a major distraction. for example, there has an important class and someone's cell phone ringing in the middle of the class. It is even worse if the people start talking. This is why some teachers try to ban cell phones and pagers from school. They said that the devices disrupt their classroom and moreover, break students'concerntration. Students who have their own cell phones will be care more about it. They really enjoy applications of their mobile phone such as music, video, wifi and the like. They want to keep contact with their friends everywhere and everywhen. Even they use their cell phone when they are in class. It becomes worse if students use cell phones or pagers to cheat on exam, or if their ringtone go off during the test, this can really affect to their mark after all.

On the other hand, some parents suppose that their kids need cell phones or pagers. They have to be able to communicate their parents, especially emergency. Using cell phones is necessary and it is unfair to banning them. However, I think that students should keep their cell phones in their locker and check massage after classes. That way they can still keep in touch with their parents and friends and the important thing is that they do not have distraction in learning.

To sum up, it is necessary for students to keep in touch with their parents and friends by using cell phones or pagers. However, I believe that students should use their own cell phone in the correct way to avoid from being distracted. That way they can really get the highest result in their studying.