Celebrities are more famous for the look and wealth than for talents and contribution to their field

Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, because of technological innovations, the role of media has become prominent and they project celebrities frequently for their glamour and wealth than their achievements. I strongly believe this trend is unproductive for our society and creates a bad example for our youngsters.

To begin with, there are a number of celebrities whose skills are ignored and remembered only for their appearance and money. One important reason for this is the role played by media in our society. Media projects more about the wealth and glamour of our celebrities more often than their achievements, in fact, nowadays, hardly they mention about their achievements in life. For example, Bill Gates, founder of Microsoft Corporation, is known as the richest man in the world than as the founder of Microsoft. These, in turn, create a false impression among youngsters and change their attitude towards earning money, when they should be concentrating on improving their skills.

Another point is the importance given to ones appearance these days. Celebrities, especially movie stars, are the source of new costumes and fashion, but their achievements in their field are generally ignored. For example, Amitabh Bachchan, a popular Indian movie star, is a fashion icon and his fans, most as youngsters, hardly miss to have his collections. However, these youngsters do not remember him for the number of national awards he has won for his acting skills. Thus, they do not realize the hard work behind their celebrity's fame.

In conclusion, the role of media and the failure of youngsters to understand the true reason behind the fame of their celebrities convince us that, nowadays, celebrities are more famous for their looks and wealth than for their talents and contributions to their field.