what cause some students to cheat in their exams

Nowadays, the problem of cheating in exam, or academic dishonesty as some colleges and high schools refer to it, is not a new problem in Vietnam and the other countries. While the demand for educated labour is getting higher and higher, there are fewer workers who can meet these needs. This problem may origin from the students' ability to cheat during exams. A question was asked: What cause some students to cheat on exams? In my opinion, there are three main reasons for cheating.

First of all, the main reason which leads students to cheat on the tests is that they want to have good grades. Most of students are under pressure from their family, their friends and their teachers... They are afraid that, if they gets bad marks, their parents will complain them, their friends will look down on and laugh at them. They imagine a dark future, with no good jobs, no good life. On the other hand, if they see their classmates get high mark, they want that fame, too. So they cheat as well as they hope. As the result/ therefore these pressures unintentionally make students value their good marks much more than their own knowledge

Having no ability for doing the exams is the second reason that cause some students cheating. From one side, students don't have their own self-confidences, some cannot do the exams because they are too difficult for them, and some students believe that they are not smart enough to pass the exams. Instead of studying hard, paying attention to classes, reviewing lessons, and doing exercises, they try to cheat in exams. On the other side, many students don't have enough time for reviewing, perhaps they get ill, they must take care of their grandparents and several different reasons. That can be sympathize, but I think that students should dispose their time in a rational way.

The final reason why some students cheat on their exam is because they get lack of self-respect. Students with high self-respect will never cheat. They feel really embarrassed by cheating. Instead of this, they try to review the lessons as best as thay can. So they get high grades thanks to their own knowledge. In contrast, students with low self-respect don't feel ashamed of cheating on the tests. To get good marks, they cheat as much as they possible. They do not feel anything wrong, and only think about the result that they can get if the teacher find out his cheating.

In conclusion, there are many reasons for students to cheat. Being under pressure for eloquent scores, having no ability for doing exams and the lack of self-respect are the contributing factors to cheating in exams. In the future, I hope the awareness of students about no cheating during the test will be raised, thanks to this, our society which is based on workers, who are educated and having their own knowledge would develop fully.