IELTS:C7T2: Should there be fixed punishments for each type of crime?

Write about the following topic:

Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on punishment.

Disscuss both views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. At least 250 words.

(hope to get your kindly help and you may give me a score according to IELTS standard if you know it. Thank you all in advance.)

Should there be certain punishments for each particular crime? This is an issue concerned with the order of the society which has long been discussed by the general public. Like every coin has two sides, there are cons and pros against this saying.

Some people go for this statement, by insisting that only through making fixed punishments for each type of crime, will we be able to ensure the justice of the law, for the benefit of every civilian. Or there will emerge some cunning guys, even including some eminent lawyers who are brilliant enough to take advantages of those unfixed regulations to avoid or lessen the punishments that they may originally deserves, or help others to do so, which is very common in nowadays society.

On the contrary, there are also a group of people, including myself, claiming that every crime is an individual case, into which the consideration of circumstances and motivation must be taken. We demand that the court not ignore those vital factors, for the simple reason that it's absolutely and totally differs if a man committed a crime purposely or unintentionally. For the latter one, we believe there are reasons for him to be given a lighter verdict, together with a second chance, as long as all the evidence of the case has been carefully and repeatedly confirmed.

All in all, I personally agree that flexible verdicts could be adopted according to variant conditions of the real cases. Nevertheless, we do need actions to ensure the authenticity of the evidence provided, as well as to avoid such terms being abused.