Books have more influence on society than television.

(TOEFL) Books have more influence on society than television.

I think the impact of books is more than television on society, since the books are the compiling of the human beings' knowledge.

Since we, human beings, have known how to record the events by drawing pictures or writing down words, "books" have existed as a variety of forms between you and me.

Thus, it is needless to emphasize the importance and impact of books. Take education for example, despite promoting the concept of "learning by doing", reading books are still the most universal educational methods, because books are available in anywhere or anytime, and due to its feasibility. Furthermore reading books are more beneficial than watching TV. As for me, I used to relax myself by watching TV programs. However, one day the TV could not work anymore. Hence, during the period of fixing of TV, I took reading as my leisure activity. Compared to watching TV, I realized that reading not only can ease my mind, but absorbing knowledge, so instead of pressing the remote control, I changed my leisure activity to read books while spare time. Consequently, based on my personal experience, the influence of books is greater than TV.

Nonetheless, some people claim that the high-quality TV channels, for instance, the National Geography and Discovery, are continuously showed up. Thus, they have very great impact on our society. In my opinion, although they have the points there, we are unable to watch TV programs all the time, that is, books are portable, but the TV is not, unless you want to bear a machine on your back. Moreover, there are a large amount of TV programs of violence and pornography. Therefore, I still consider the influence of books outweigh the TV.

To sum up, based on the convenience of caring books, and the compiling of the human knowledge, I firmly claim that the books are far more influential than TV.