Books have a greater impact on society than TV ( Toefl essay)

Nowadays as the development of technology, TV plays an important role of society. It can help people widely spread their thoughts and tells people the news happened all around world. However, I still hold the view that books have a greater impact on society than TV. And there are several reasons to back up my perspectives.

Firstly, when we read the book, we will have enough time to think about the view that author holds and think even further. So that we can easily understand the meaning and remember it

Take my personal experience for instance: when I read the book about a professional concept and I feel confused, I will go to the library to borrow some other books or search on the internet to figure out the problem I met and then take notes, in this way, I can understand it clearly. Instead of hearing the news from TV, I can have more space to think about it and go further to the knowledge.

Secondly, sometimes what we heard from TV is just from one side, so our "eyes" probably will be blinded by the false information. People have different angles and hold different views, so when heard the news from TV, we will be easily convinced by the speaker. But we when read books, we can search several books and compare with each of them then we can get right information.

Thirdly, book goes further than TV. Even until today, we can still find books from hundreds of years ago. Books can be saved well. But after few decades, people will think that TV is a kind of old fashion stuff, therefore it will be damaged instead of keeping it well thus our offspring can't get to know about the life we live now.

In summary, as the books have a greater impact on society, the government should encourage people to write books. The government should also take care about the public service to let people have chance to read books as many as they want to in the public library. In this way, I am strongly believed that our society will getting better