Is it better study domestic or abroad?

In the flat world today, besides economical factor has changed significantly, education has affected by globalization phenomenon. There are more opportunities for resident students to study abroad instead of domestic areas. This essay will examine the arguments for and against the idea that it is better study abroad than domestic.

There are a lot of arguments in favor of the idea that it is better for study abroad than domestic. Firstly, students can absorb new knowledge through foreign language. In fact, with perfect language ability, students can pull out many good things from reading book and communicating with others in themselves language. Because each culture has private strengths, students could study them to have an intercultural background to promote them working in the variety of cultural workplaces. For example, most students who have graduated from the US are more likely to get good positions at multinational corporations wherever. Secondly, student can touch with new teaching methods from foreign professional professors. To explain, with wide knowledge and plentiful experiences, foreign professors can provide proper teaching methods which resident professors can not. For example, in the Western countries, professors concentrate on team works or self researching in class courses which are rarely happening in Asian countries.

On the other hand, there are some counter arguments that studying in domestic is better than abroad. Firstly, local study limits financial risk comparing with study abroad. In fact, it is too expensive to pay tuition fee at foreign universities. When it is more affordable in local universities. For example, a Vietnamese student has to pay over 9,000 dollars tuition fee a year for public four-year colleges, while in Vietnam, it is just more and less 500 dollars. Secondly, students who study in domestic more likely remain good relationships with their families and others. To explain, parents are easier to take care their children when distance is not too far between them. Parents and children have more opportunities to face and talk each other. As a result, they build and remain good relationship. It is harder when children study in other countries. It is the same with other relationships. For example, on the Tet holiday of Vietnam, most students in big cities come back their hometowns to joy with their families and relatives. While it is too difficult with a student who is studying in the US.

In conclusion, there are some different arguments with the idea that it is better for studying abroad than domestic. While absorbing new knowledge and new teaching methods are pros for study abroad, financial risk and remaining relationship are cons. However, the best solution depends on each situation and choice of each person.