"It is better to be safe than sorry" - TOEFL ibt

Suspended for ignoring the new thread title rules.

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to be safe than sorry

Use reasons and examples to support your responses.

In our life, safety and danger are two factors of human life. Sometimes safety brings more assurance but not all danger is simply danger, taking a risk means taking a chance. What is the better: safety or risk?

People in favor of security think nothing can be got unless there is an assurance. We should respect our life and risk may bring an end without anything. For instance, when driving on a big crowded street, people always say: it is better to be safe than sorry because a moment of carelessness will result in a loss of life.

On the other hand, risk is considered to be dangerous, but it is also a chance for anyone who would like to make a change of their own life. People think they can not stand living a tedious life with no harm done. For example, a student would like to get admitted to MIT. Although his scores are not too high, at average, he had better apply for it because the more you know how to take risk, the more you can get.

In conclusion, I think safety and risk should be coexistent and should not be separated as I would like to have a risky life as well as a secure one. If we know to to balance them, we can not only get success, but also we can enhance the preciousness of life.