GRE best way to understand the character of a society

Heroes or role models of a society often reflect the character of a society. However, considering limitations of consulting only a few people to determine the character of a society, overall mechanism and value systems based on characteristics of a majority of people are more likely to be the keys to understand the society as a whole.

Of course, those who achieved great success in a society partially show what kind of value the society stresses on. For example, in a capitalism society, people tend to admire entrepreneurs who make a fortune. Indeed, Bill Gates or Warren Buffet are said to be the heroes of the America in that they represent important values of the society. For another instance, when it comes to Renaissance, people value artistic sensitivity of a person the most. Leonardo Da Vinci or Michelangelo were therefore, heroes, reflecting the very characteristic of the societies they belonged to. This fact certainly shows that heroes and role models reveal the values that a society emphasizes.

Nevertheless, it is hard to say that the character of a society is most understandable by such particular persons. Especially in a complex modern society, heroes or role models tend to exist within a specific field, reflecting only little portion of the society. Indeed, the success of aforementioned great entrepreneurs is confined to business arena, having little to do with other fields such as academia or entertainment. In the similar sense, music superstars or sports heroes who are certainly admired by a number of people reveal not the character of a society in general, but only the trends within the specific industry. This indicates that heroes of contemporary society illuminate a certain aspect of a society rather than help people understand the overall traits of a society.

In addition, character of general people serves the basis of mechanism and value systems on which a society is based. The anonymous power of common people is remarkably exerting influence on describing the character of a society. For instance, Wikipedia, which is a top-ranked online encyclopedia created by countless participations of anonymous people, tells us a great deal about how our society operates and which values are generally pursued. Wikipedia's openness represents the main character of sharing economy as well as an internet based society. In this sense, we could appropriately grasp the core of our society without anything to do with specific heroes.

In the final analysis, while heroes and role models are helpful to understand certain aspects of a society, they are not totally reliable indicators of a society's general character. Only by examining the mechanism and value system made by anonymous many, could one dare to understand the gist of a society.