'not the best way'; steep prices of petrol solve traffic and pollution problems

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

To some extent, it is true that the increasing traffic jam and air pollution problems are able to be tackled by raising the price of petrol. However, I personally do not believe that it is the best and only approach to solve those problems.

Obviously, increasing the price of petrol is a effective and efficient means to combat the problems created by vehicles. The higher price of petrol, the less chances people going out by car. In addition, because of the higher cost of petrol, some people might consider to purchase more efficient car instead of buying those cars that are very powerful but not economic in terms of petrol consumption. Furthermore, the car manufactures are going to pay more attention to upgrade their technologies in order to minimize the costs of driving, thereby promoting the sales of their cars. Japanese vehicle manufacture industry is a excellent example of this point.

On the other hand, it is not the best and only way to solve the problems. One of better approaches is to change people's attitude towards environmental protection rather than passively imposing the extra cost of petrol on drivers. It is possible to raise the awareness of environmental respect, through the public education, the media press and etc. Another feasible solution is to build a convenient and modernistic public transportation system that allows the public gain more benefits than driving by their own.

To sum up, I admit that raising the price of petrol is a good way to solve traffic and environmental problems. But according to my own opinion, it is not the best way. The best way to solve those problems is: a dynamic, less passive and more sustainable solution that takes a good combination of all feasible solution.

Any advice will be welcome and highly appreciate.