The Benefits of Information Technology for Working Outshine Its Disadvantages

Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.).

Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

Frankly, information technology brings convenience to human, especially in their working life. It is argueably that information technology make people feel more convenient to do their job everywhere outside their workplace like at home and when travelling since the internet connects people and provides a limitless communication. Above all, the features are the most valueable aspect of information technology. Sadly, poor quality of video and lack of face to face meeting may become the negative point of it, although I think that these still cannot outshine the benefits.

As a matter of fact, the most noticeable benefit of information technology is convenience. Firstly, people can attend an important meeting even though they are trapped in the middle of traffic congestion. As long as they have good internet connection, they can use video call to attend the meeting. In addition, when people are out of duty as they suffer illness, they do not have to come to office for reporting some important documents they have done. In this case, email can be used to send the documents. Furthermore, features of information technology like Skype, Google Drive, E-Banking, etc., provide many useful ways to do their job outside workplace. Broadly speaking, information technology benefits businessmen in many ways.

Having said that, if there is advantage, there will always disadvantage. The general view has been said that since the internet connection is not all the time at a good condition, it influences the quality of video in online meeting. Sometimes, technology barriers produce poor quality of video, it may not appear as smooth as it used to be. Afterwards, people who are liable to do online meeting may lack of face-to-face meeting. People have tendency to do shared work with the one they knew. However, when people attend meeting using online way, how can their partner recognise and know them for further since the screen only provides close up posture. By and large, sometimes information technology is bad for working.

As far as I am concerned, it is clear that even though information technology have several drawbacks, I believe that the benefits are far more substantial than the disadvantages. Therefore, it is imperative that people can take those benefits so as to keep in touch with their work although they cannot come to office.