IELTS ; I believe that capital punishment is important to arrest the level of crimes

Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or do not agree?

One very complex issue in today's world is whether capital punishment is essential in controlling violence in society. It is believed that the death penalty makes our lives more secure, however other people argue that such extent of punishment is too strict. In this essay I intend to support the first point of view that there is no excuse for those people and they deserve such extent of punishment.

Perhaps the strongest argument in favor of capital punishment is it will reverse the upward trend of crimes. Because not many killers want to be killed by government and they would probably think twice before committing a crime. Secondly, if they go out of the prison, they are very likely to repeat their behavior and commit much crueler crime. Furthermore, the ones who pay for food to those criminals sitting in the prison are those who pay taxes, in other words citizens. So eventually, it's not beneficial for the economy

On the other hand, it is too cruel to use such extent to those criminals, because they are also human beings and they deserve some indulgences. This is true, take misfit, for instance, he or she has grown in the streets and had no education and no control. When looking at this example, there is no doubt that people shouldn't judge them too strictly without knowing about the criminal's life.

To recapitulate, I would say that having those people in the society is too dangerous for the peaceful citizens and they need to get corresponding extent of punishment.

(257 words)

Would be very pleased if you check it:)