ielts: Are we becoming more independent ?

QUESTION: People in the past used to be more dependent on one another, whereas nowadays they lead a more independent life. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that our modern life has changed the relationships between people. They claim that nowadays we become more independent than the past, while others believe the total opposite. In this essay i will examine both sides of this debate, giving my opinion in the end.

To begin with, people assume that we are becoming more independent for many reasons.First of all, they claim that traditional families are now decreasing and fewer people are living in large extended families.Moreover, people nowadays travel more looking for job opportunities. Eventually, they lose contact with their family and friends and start a new life dependently.Furthermore, some people claim that the value and respect for elders declined and now people are depending on self-help philosophies.

In the meantime, other people still believe that we need others support in our lives.People are still concern to keep in touch with their relatives and friends by the help of the social networks. Such as, Facebook, Skype ,E-mails, mobile phones and text messages. Last but not least, although we don't depend on families advice as in the past, we still have colleges and professionals that can provide us help.

In conclusion, having considered both sides of this debate, i strongly believe that despite the several changes that happened on our modern life, humans will never gave up seeking for others advice.