My bad experiences help me to fight harder and to go after what I want - CBEST essay

Hello everyone! im gone take my CBEST really soon and I need help correcting some of the essay I wrote

Describe a negative experience. Describe why it had such an impact on you. Explain what you gained from it.

In some point of our life we faced with rejection or defeat and caused a negative experienced in our lives. These kinds of experiences can impacted the way a person can see their life. At the same a person can gained straight from that experiences and can help them shape their lives. In my case one negative experience was in high school in year 1995. I experienced rejection from classmates, teacher and staffs do to the language barrier. That experience impacted my life and changed the way I see life now.

In 1995 when I arrived from my native country Colombia my mother enrolled me in the local high school. I was scared but excited at the same time. Scared because it was something completed new for me and excited because I would get to know new people my age. I started ninth grade right away the next day after she enrolled me. The first day of class it was really hard for me; I didn't know where the classroom where located and I was not able to asked other students for help because I didn't know English. During class time teachers would conducted their classes in English and I didn't understand what they were saying. I would ask some of my classmates to tell me what the teacher was saying. Sometimes they would tell me but the majority of times they would ignored me and I was left confused and frustrated. I felt the teacher also ignored me because they didn't speak Spanish and they didn't have the time find me somebody that can help me out. Not only I felt rejected in the classroom but at lunch time I could not communicate with the cafeteria ladies I could not tell them what I wanted for lunch. They would get annoying because they could understand me and would tell me to hurry up. At times I was so depressed and frustrated that in the classroom I would sit in the back of the classroom and in lunch time I would go hide in the restroom and cry myself out.

It was a struggle for me every morning some days were worse than others. I knew that at school I will have an unpleased situations like not able to understand what the teachers were saying or not able to participate in classroom discussions. At times I want to go back to my country or dropped out of high school and worked somewhere where I didn't need to speak any English. That year I didn't passed to tenth grade because I failed most of the classes. For instance, I was not able to understand the materials tough in class I would get "F" and "D" in most of my tests and homework was most of the time incomplete. During this school year I thought that I would never learned English or graduated from high school and go to college. I was really discouraged and disappointed with myself. I would see myself in a factory cleaning the floor or being maid for other people houses.

This rejections, failures, and bad experiences I lived during high school help to realized that to accomplished something in life one have to work harder and never give up. I stop feeling sorry for myself and during summer I took extra classes that I needed graduate on time. I also took extra English classes to help me speak, write and understand English. It was hard at time and I wanted to give up but would dismiss those negative thoughts and I would think that all the struggles and rejections at the end would pay off. I graduate from high school, enrolled in college, and received a teaching degree.

In conclusion, we all struggle and lived bad experiences in one point of our life. What we do with that experiences would help us learn and persevere what we want for our lives. My bad experiences help me to fight harder and to go after what I want. No matter what obstacles I would encounter to accomplish my goal. I would always remember that every good or bad experience that would happen in my life would teach something new.