[IELTS] attitude to Space Research

Some people think space research is a waste of money. The government should spend money on the improvement of people's living conditions. What is your opinion?

In present, the breakthroughs and advances in technology have transformed our life, and enable the scientists to conduct various scientifical researches such as space research. Yet at the same time, it is a heated issue that whether it is necessary to spend so much money on a single experiment. Some people argue that space research is solely a waste of money, and government should invest in the expenditure relating to citizen's wellbeing. In my personal view, I find this view unconvincing for at least two reasons.

First of all, like the scientifical researches in the past, space research is also the foundation upon which science and technology developments can be achieved. For example, from Newton to Kepler, their achievements based on the observations of space not only contribute a lot to the theory in math and physics, but also render people better identify the role of human being and the future of the earth as well. More specifically, the Apollo landing affords us sufficient data to analyze and study, which is valuable to exploit the nature of outer space.

Besides, human race all over the world can be the beneficiaries of space research, soon or later. Apparently, there have been many successful applications such as innovations in biometric engineering field due to the outcome of space research. The crop yield could be improved a lot if they are cultivated in the environment similar to the space. Furthermore, the final goal of space research is to find a replacement of the earth in case that one day our global village is no longer suitable to live in. Thus, it is imperative to encourage government to spend on this study.

However, we cannot deny the cost of space research is too huge; even though, the future of this project is certainly promising for the society as a whole. Maybe the government should strike a balance between the scientifical research and the people's living condition.

To sum up, we should trust and support the authorities' decisions about space research which may beyond our knowledge and eyesight. Also, all nations should unite together to combat the challenging task-that is the space research-which seems difficult to conquer for any single nation. [366]

Plz place more emphasis on the opening paragraph and the top sentences of each body paragraph.