IELTS - the arguments for and against keeping pets

Topic: Too much attention is paid to and too much money is spent on keeping pets, while people throughout the world are starving.

- Discuss the arguments for and against keeping pets

- To what extent do you agree?

Source: IELTS Testbuilder

For many years it has been recognized that animals are not just helpers for our work, also they have been part of our life as a friend or family member. While on the other side going poverty and poor life, caring animals or giving more attention to animals leads some people to think that attention to human lower than animals. Since old times animals have been one of the first causes of human civilization, for instance, by keeping animals and raising them farming was learned; by experiencing animal organism medicine has been developing. Similarly, caring household animals lead people to love nature and its pieces. Consequently, knowing to treat animals in a right way reduces the danger of animal species extinction.

In my opinion, taking versus the caring household animals with paying attention to the poverty is not right position. Since, they are quite different notions, caring animal has not a negative affect on people who are suffered by having no food. Conversely, having household animals, like hens, cows and so on benefits with providing food.

My obvious answer is breeding animals has no relationship with starvation of people. There are many other factors of starvation, namely ecological, political and economical. Money spending on animal is not so high than other sectors, so reducing the amount of money for animals would not give any significant change. People, as well as government should reduce financing other sectors in order to make better changes for the people who are living in a poverty.