[GRE Argument] Recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewel

The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy-and generate additional tax revenues-is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this memo suggest that Hopewell town adopt similar strategy of Ocean View town by building a golf course and resort hotel to improve Hopewell's economy. This statement, however, were made based on several fallacious assumptions as well as committed false analogy.

To begin with, the author claimed that tourism in Ocean View increased after golf course and resort hotel were established. It is not clear, however, whether this establishment fully contributed to the increase of Ocean View visitor. For example, there might be other festivals which caused tourist visited Ocean View. To strengthen his/her argument, the author would benefit from presenting clear relationship between tourism increase and golf course and resort hotel establishment.

In addition, the author made an analogy between Ocean view and Hopewell, but is these two cities were similar? It is possible that Ocean View located near the ocean and so, building a resort hotel there was plausible. But is this action really implementable in Hopewell? For all we know, Hopewell could be surrounded by mountains, which caused building a resort hotel in Hopewell did not make any sense. In order to support his/her claim, the author should present better evidence whether Hopewell and Ocean View geographical condition is similar.

The author also stated that Ocean View's tax revenue has accreted for 30% during 2 years period, however the author did not present clearly in what scale is this 30% increase. This 30% increase would be significant if tax revenue rises from $1,000,000 to $1,300,000, whereas it could be less significant if it rises from $1,000 to $1,300. For all we know, Hopewell's tax income was already greater than Ocean View's. It would be better if the author could present actual numbers, rather than unrepresentative percentage.

In conclusion, the argument is not forceful enough to persuade the Hopewell town should build a golf course and a hotel resort to improve Hopewell's tax revenue. Before any final decisions are made, the author should make his/her argument more cogent and logical.