GRE Argument ---antibiotics study results

Please help me to ammend my GRE argument.

I also want to konw when you write this kind of article, do you have the habit to attack the major logical mistakes first and then attack the minor logical mistakes.

I will appreciate your work! Thanks!

51.The following appeared in a medical newsletter.

"Doctors have long suspected that secondary infections may keep some

patients from healing quickly after severe muscle strain. This hypothesis

has now been proved by preliminary results of a study of two groups of

patients. The first group of patients, all being treated for muscle

injuries by Dr. Newland, a doctor who specializes in sports medicine, took

antibiotics regularly throughout their treatment. Their recuperation time

was, on average, 40 percent quicker than typically expected. Patients in

the second group, all being treated by Dr. Alton, a general physician,

were given sugar pills, although the patients believed they were taking

antibiotics. Their average recuperation time was not significantly

reduced. Therefore, all patients who are diagnosed with muscle strain

would be well advised to take antibiotics as part of their treatment."

Before suggesting all patients who are diagnosed with muscle strain to take antibiotics as part of their treatment, the evidence given in the argument shoud be scrutinized from several other angles. The author seems to place full confidence on the results conducted by the researchers that taking atibiotics may enable some patients to recover quicker after secondary infections of severe muscle strian without examing other factors which may affected the study results. In addition, the author hastily concluded that antibiotics can be applied to all patients who are diagnosed with muscle strain as part of their treatment.

First of all, granted that taking antibiotics may enable some patients to quicken recovery time after secondary infections of severe muscle strian, there is no guarantee that secondary infection will definitely happen in those patients with muscle strain or that those patients are more likely to suffer secondary infection. Thus, without better evidence that secondary infection will certainly happen, the conclusion seems unconvincing. Further, unless the arguer can give sufficient evidence to show that those some patients are representative of all patients who suffer muscle strain, it is impossible to confidently apply some patients's results to all patients. Because we know nothing about the age, background, and general health of those "some patients", it is entirely possible that the study result only suitable for those whose age are below 20, or that the sufferers are all in good condition except secondary infection after strain muscle. Besides, the argument unfairly assumes that antibiotics will take effect in all sorts of muscle strain. The arguer provides no imformation about the types of muscle strain. Lacking such evidence it is entirely possible that antibiotics does not work in those who merely suffer ordinary muscle strain.

However, the study result that antibiotics can accelerate the cure time does not convince me and therefore, the claim is actually dubious. The study result is on the basis of two groups of patients who are separately given antibiotics and sugar pills , the author failed to provide imformation on the age, background, gender, and general health of the patients. If the patients, taking antibiotics in one group, are all male adolescents in robust health while patients in another group, having sugar pills, are all male elders in weak health. It exists the possibility that it is just because of their younger age and healthier body condition that speed up the healing process of those taking antibiotics rather than the antibiotics themselves do. The same is true that the professional level of the doctors and the remedy doctors applied might differ, these factors, may contribute to the difference of recuperation process, but the author failed to provide these imformation. Generally, doctors who specialize in sports medicine are more skillful in treating muscle strain than those general physicians. As a result, patients who were treated by sports doctor might recover quicker than those were cured by general physician. For that matter, it is possible that it is the higher treatment level and more effective therapy that shortened the healing time.

Additionally, for an controlled experiment, the author omits to inform us what effect that sugar pills act on patients in the second group. The arguer eliminate the possibility that sugar pills might possessed the function to slow down recuperation time. Without considering this possibility, the two study groups would not be comparable and it either can not demonstrate that antibiotics can quicken recuperation time.

In sum, as it stands the argument is wholly unpersuasive. To bolster it the author must provide some fundamental imformation about the backgroud, gender, health of the patients. The author must also give imformation on the doctors' background, such as professional level. To better assess the argument it would be useful to know whether all patients would suffer secondary infection after muscle strain, and what kind of muscle strain they bear. Also useful would be any imformation about whether the study results can typify all patients.