IELTS Essay - Appropriate age of adulthood

Hi All,

Can you please review this essay and provide feedback:

In some countries young people at the age of eighteen are considered adults and can drive a car, vote and get married, while other countries don't allow it. What age do you think is the best to be considered an adult? Give reasons and examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Age of majority tend to vary across countries. In some countries, young people of age eighteen are considered to be adult and are provided the rights to drive, vote and marry. However, other nations oppose by saying younger generation don't become matured enough to take the responsibilities of an adult at the age of eighteen. It is felt that twenty-one should be the ideal age of adulthood. This will be proven by looking at how increased maturity level and higher educational qualification at the before mentioned age make the young people suitable to act adults.

Firstly, when youngsters are granted adulthood, they enjoy different privileges like driving license, voting rights and marriage eligibility. These activities to some extent demand a good amount of decision-making capability and maturity. Many researches show that critical parts of the brain involved in decision-making are not fully developed until age 21 or so. For instance, my best friend's brother lost his life in an accident while racing with another car. Unfortunately, that was his first day in driving after getting driving license at the age of eighteen. It has been seen that as the age grows people become more cautious and more responsible. Thus, it seems that eighteen is not an appropriate age to be recognized as adults.

In addition to this, education has major influence in development of dependable citizens. Education is a tool which not only injects few philosophies, but also teaches us to respond wisely to different situations in our life. Because of this, only a well-educated individual can properly use the rights related to driving, voting and marriage. But, at the age of eighteen, a young individual usually does not complete his studies and many aspect of education is yet to be exposed to him. For example, in India people of eighteen finish only high school that is considered the first milestone of education. Thus, this example shows why eighteen is not a suitable age to grant adulthood.

In conclusion, after analysing the lack of full-grown maturity and incomplete education, it is felt that it would not be justified to deal with the critical matters like driving, voting and marrying at that very young age. It would be better for them to get exposed to such matters on or after the age of twenty-one.