Anti-social behavior, lack of respect to others -help me make some improvement

Today there is a great increase in anti-social behavior and lack of respect to others. What are the causes of this? What measures can be taken to reduce this problem?

Nowadays, the issue of anti-social behaviour and lack of respect for others is not uncommon.This is especially true among young people. There are mainly two causes of this phenomenon--the negative influence of mass media,the decline of the family and poverty.

As the mass media become increasingly commercialized, program producers and publishers of books are more focused on ratings, which is clearly associated with profits. Therefore, violence of all kinds are presented on TV and in books. The constant exposure to violence is to suggest to people that violence is an ordinary way of life, and that shooting and cheating are possible ways to succeed. We also notice that our societies and even our families have become less cohesive, as people have to struggle to cope with the challenges of life. The decline in our sense of community and family has gone hand-in-hand with the rise of individualism. People increasingly look after their own interests without considering the needs of society.

Accordingly, it is the government's responsibility to introduce restrictions and supervision on the mass media, i.e. not allowing certain TV programs at given times, or by limiting the number of books published according to their content. Families and schools also play equally important role in dealing with this problem. Parental guidance is a key factor of self-cultivation in one's lifetime. Parents can spend more time staying with their children and patiently carry out the duty of family education. For children who exhibit some anti-social behaviour, schools should help them to realize what they did is wrong rather than giving up on them.

Overall, although the problem of anti-social behaviour and lack of respect for others seem to be inevitable, we must recognize its negative effects on the society as a whole and work on effective measures to diminish its adverse influences.