Ielts: Animal testing is used in important medical researches.

Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is no doubt true that animals are used in important medical research. While some people argue that humans have no moral right to do experiments on animals, others hold an opinion that it is necessary to test new drugs on animals for the safety of human beings. My opinion is more practical and worthy of being paid attention that will be known within the scope of my essay.

To begin with, people who argue against animal testing, claim that the benefits researches do not justify the suffering caused. Therefore, those people are in favor of respecting the lives of animals and stopping prosecuting experimentations on them in a way of using alternative methods. However, one must admit that researchers aim to minimize the suffer that animals experience. Testing for cosmetics industry, for instance, is banned in many countries all over the world. Moreover, scientists try to use alternative options of testing new drugs in order to avoid animal testing.

Further and even more importantly, there do seem to be certain benefits of experiments on animals that can easily overwhelm its potential pitfalls. The main reason is that animal testing helps us to advance our medical and scientific knowledge. For example, many important medical discoveries involved experimentations on animals. The other reason is bound up with the safety of new products for humans. It is certainly true that without testing a new medicament, it would be risky to allow clinics to use this sort of medicine when it comes to healing patients.

In conclusion, while I admit that there are some disadvantages of animal testing, I would argue that it would not be the most appropriate course of action to ban it completely.