IELTS Essay: Animal Testing - positive and negative aspects

TOPIC: Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

ANSWER:

Animal testing is important for medical and scientific purposes. While some people are of the opinion that testing on animals is completely wrong, others opine that this is necessary for human safety. It is vital to discuss both views before forming a personal idea.

On the one hand, animal experimentation has its own benefits. Firstly, many special medical discoveries involved animal testing. Before providing new products or medicines to societies, those products must be tested to endorse their safety to humans. Secondly, doing experiments on animals gives researchers knowledge about them and their behaviors. Moreover, scientists can diminish the negative consequences that animals experience. Thus, this method is significant to save people from suffering risks of some new drugs.

On the other hand, testing on animals is dangerous. The lives of animals should be respected because this can result in the extinction of some species. In some countries, for example, animal testing is now banned. If people keep using them for medical and scientific reasons, some day there will be no more animals to do so. Besides, there are alternative approaches to endorse drugs. With many effective innovations in science and technology, it is possible for scientists to create and invent new methods to test the safety of products. Furthermore, humans have no right to do experiments on animals. For instance, in many cultures, some animals are their main symbols and belief. Using them for any purpose can be contradict to their rules.Therefore, animal experimentations can be harmful to wildlife.

In conclusion, it seems to me that endorsing products by using such method can be positive as well as negative. Hence, this approach should be regulated and governments should ban dangerous experiments as they can destroy the natural environment.