GRE Analyze Issue;Best way to teach- praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

Prompt:

"The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones"

Response:

Teaching is much more than the mere repetition or paraphrasing of known facts.

A proper way to teach is to make a student, or student, body interested in whatever is being taught. To teach properly is to make the learning process memorable. Now, I agree that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions. However, Negative actions cannot simply be ignored. Rather the source of the proverbial weed must be identified and rooted quickly.

Let us discuss why it is important to praise positive actions. First, praising positive action of a student (or students) points out what should be done in a class. Repeated praises for such actions, can often lead to other students picking up that habit and Such positive actions help maintain the flow of the teaching and learning process. Some actions, may reinforce important points and augment the teaching process. Given the cumulative effect of these three outcomes, an environment can be conducine for learning. Let us take a common action which occurs during teaching: Questions. Questions and answers are an important way of reinforcing and summarizing important points. Any student who asks pertinent questions should be praised, so that some points are repeated in the answer. Also, the habit of questioning may spread quickly to other people, resulting in an increasing freuqency of questioning and may even cause a mutual classroom discussion, a most effective way to learn.

Now onto negative actions. Simply ignoring negative actions is not the key to diminishing their effects. Why? If a negative action is simply ignored and nothing else is done about it, the root of negative actions may pervade the environment. If this happens, a negative action may be repeated over and over again, with increasing frequency. This may disrupt the flow of the teaching process. Secondly, Other people may pick it up quickly and the negative action may have a worse effect. If not dealt with celerity, and entire 'class' can become completely degenerate and uncontrollable. Therefore, as I have explained, the mere existence of negative actions may cause very little to be conveyed and the entire process will become a fiasco. For example, in the 8th grade, some students used to misbehave during Language Classes. Intitially, the teahcer chose to overlook the mischief caused by some of the rowdier students. However, chatting and small time affrontery qucikly developed into clamorous actions: Stomping on the floor, throwing pens and sharp objects, and the like. And the teacher was simply unable to stop such catastrophe at any time.

Instead of ignoring wanton actions, such actions must be panned and the root of it all qucikly taken care of. This will ensure that nothing bad happens.

Therefore, in conlcusion, I only agree with the first half of the recommendation. Good actions must be praised in order to create a more conduvine learning and teaching environment and bad actions must be taken care of quickly in order to prevent future uproars.