GRE Analyze an argument. Restoration of local news and weather forecast time

The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author's recommendation for an increase in the time devoted in the coverage of local and weather news cannot be adopted due to the dearth of details presented in the argument.

First, the author argues that the station has received a number of complaints regarding the coverage of local news and weather forcast. But the author has not mentioned what kind of complaints are being made. It may be possible that the complaints are not eventuated by the reduced time dedicated for such broadcasts, but rather the animadversions may be arising form the quality of news being broadcasted. For example, the stations's weather forecast are not accurate. Or maybe that the station is probably not covering important local news, or maybe the anchors not disinterested, conveying strong opinions, during news time. If this is the case, then simply restoring the local news and weather forecast timings will not solve the problem. The author can strengthen his argument by citing specific complaints in his argument.

Secondly, the author asserts that the reason for businesses rescinding contracts is arising from the reduced broadcast time. Just because two events coincide does not necessarily mean that they are linked to one another. There could be a plethora of other reasons why businesses may recant their commitments. Local businesses may have terminated contracts because they may have been offered better and more lucrative contracts elsewhere. Or it may also be possible that such businesses may be in financial straits, and hence cannot continue to pay for advertising costs. If the author can elicit a reason from business owners which corroborates his point, then can the author make a more congenial case.

Given the lack of specifics, the author has not been able to make a strong case in favor of the restoration of weather and local news to the original level, and therefore his recommendation cannot be considered as it is now.