[Analysis of Issue] Schools should be only responsible for academic skills

"Schools should be responsible only for teaching academic skills and not for teaching ethical and social values."

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with opinion expressed above. Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations, or reading.

Because of training needs, schools were established to teach students about some skills. Some people said that schools should be responsible only for teaching academic skills and not for teaching ethical and social values. However, I don't totally agree with this opinion because nowadays, people go to school not only to get good jobs after graduation but also to become useful people for society. Thus, apart from academic skills, people need to be taught ethical and social values.

With people going to schools to get good jobs after graduation, they want to learn academic skills that are needed for future jobs. However, it's only a necessary condition but not a sufficient condition. In fact, there are many people who well trained about academic skills, but still unsuccessful in working. For example, there are two people that graduated the same class with distinctive grades in academic skills, but a person with lower grade in academic skill is still more successful than another. Because they both work in marketing field, in order to succeed in working, they need both academic skills and social knowledge. Academic skills help them to analysis economic issues and social skills help them to understand customer needs. In order to succeed in marketing field, people have to associate with academic skills and social skills. As you know, school is the best place to study ethical and social values.

Admittedly, people go to schools in order to become useful people for society. There are many skills that people need to be studied to improve themselves and school is the best place that taught them. In schools, people study not only academic skills but only ethical and social values. When looking for the answer for the questionnaire "How to become a useful person for society?", people will realize that you have to be responsible not only for their family but also for society. In reality, there are many bad doctors, lawyers who are good at professional knowledge but still damage for their patients or their customers. Because of their private purposes not based on ethical and social values, they are ready to harm others, for example: shielding criminals, swindling money out of patients, and so on. Thus, schools should be responsible for teaching ethical and social values, too.

In sum, the role of school is to train not only academic skills but also ethical and social values. Because people need all skills to improve themselves in order to not only get good jobs but also become useful people. School is the perfect place that people can study these skills.