IELTS: Advertising tempts people to buy things irrespective of their real needs;Agree

Hi all,

Please check my writing and give your valuable feedbacks.

Question: The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Anwser:

I would agree that advertising has had a great impact on the increasing sales of any promoted product. Consumers seem to be urged to buy cheap, discounted but unnecessary goods which are frequently advertised on television or other types of media.

One of the reasons for this prompt responding to advertisements is that products advertised look too appealing for consumers to deny a deal. It is obviously seen that there would be a long queue of ladies, early in the morning, standing in front of a shops if yesterday they received the information that "the early birds will get a fridge at one dollar". They are pulled to come not only to be the winners of that extremely cheap deal, but also the shoppers of other items displayed in the shops. Any of them really need another fridge if they already had one at home?

In addition, advertisers really know how to play magic to their advertisements by providing so attractive and effective slogans that potential customers could easily be influenced. They are probably willing to spend a few thousand dollars to buy a vacuum machine if it is said to prove their wealth, high standard of living or royal lifestyles as slogans broadcasted.

However, a majority of the up-sales products purchased today is because there are really necessary needs from buyers. Also, consumers are increasingly aware of how to spend their budgets efficiently. The high sales should not be always mirror the power of advertising as a result.

In conclusion, there is advantageous for sellers to up-sales products through advertising, but the overwhelming of advertisements should be controlled by authorised organisations for the consumers' rights.