IELTS: Advertising makes people buy products that they really do not need

TOPIC: Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy products that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve all our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

ANSWER:

Every field has its own positive and negative aspects and advertising is not an exception. From my point of view, I partly agree that advertising is a bad industry in today's economy.

On the one hand, advertising can be good for humans as it is a key part of modern business. It is a way for companies to tell their customers about new products. By advertising, people are informed that they have many choices of goods. Besides, it is a creative industry because it employs a huge number of workforce. The result is that there would be lower unemployment. Therefore, advertising may help to advance our lives.

On the other hand, many companies take advantage of advertising to sell their unnecessary products. Advertisers only focus on selling a brand image. They use glamorous and successful people to promote their brands. Those famous people who should be listed are Katy Perry, Taylor Swift, Justin Bieber, Selena Gomez and many more. This leads to the fact that more costumers will buy their products which might be needless for them. What is more, children can easily be influenced by advertisements. When they watch attention-grabbing commercials on television, they will tell parents to buy them such things. This can put pressure on their families. Hence, advertising can have its own disadvantages also.

In conclusion, although advertising helps people to meet their fundamental needs, its bad effects on human can not be denied. Consequently, advertising should be regulated and people need to consider before buying things.