( IELTS essay) Advertisements encourages to buy unwanted things?

Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisement tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which you agree?

Undoubtedly, in this competitive world, advertisement plays an important role in the buying nature of the consumers. It raises a controversial issue whether the advertisements compel us to purchase more than our need or it improves our daily lives. However, I believe that wise use of advertisement can uplift our lives.

The vital function of the advertisements is to inform the costumer about the entry of a new product, the manufacture, content, price or a service. It guide people through the market and services and a blessing for those who have not enough time to search all these things and enables better choice. Thus, it is informative and useful.

On the other hand, advertisements not only inform us about a new product but also force people to want them. In other words, modern commercials not merely matchmaker of a consumer but, actually interfere with the buyer's desires and creating artificial needs. For instance, an advertisement of pain relief equipment compels you to buy that, even though your pain is relieving by a pain balm. Additionally, the buying pattern and success of a product is highly depended on the publicity of that product. This shows the importance of advertisements in determining the success of a product. On the contrary, there are so many products, which meet the requirement of the consumer failed to catch the eye of the society due to the lack of knowledge about the product.

Admittedly, many companies allocate a major share of their budget for introducing new products and using wisely for hiring celebrities, making attractive advertisements, giving discounts, providing after sale discounts and so on. Being attracted by the spell of advertisements, people used to buy things, which is even not necessary. Moreover, commercials oblige us to buy things just because they are fashionable or up to date and not because our old one is no longer useful. When a successful person or celebrity introduces these products, people blindly believe that, to become up to date in the fast world these products are inevitable.

In conclusion, advertisement is important, as it provides valuable information about a product. However, it is wise to learn more details of the product and compare it with our real needs before choosing a product. Then only, these advertisement are favorable for us, otherwise it will be a mere wastage of money, time, energy and resources.