Advertisement motivates us to imitate others rather than being unique according to our interest

Some people argue that advertising is discouraging people from being different individuals and makes people to be or seem to be the same. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays advertising has also become a business. Some people claim that advertisement motivates people to imitate others rather than being unique according to their interest. I disagree with this view as people likes to be different according to their interest.

One of the reason for my view is lots of competition in todays market and people choose the best suitable for them. Every now and then new company and new brads are coming up with different materials in different styles and advertise with celebrities. For example there are various brands of clothes advertised by various celebrities. But everyone does not buy the same brand. They buy according to their interest and attitude on each brand and their advertisement. Hence there is no single brand that attracts majority of the population which will be imitated by the majority. Another reason is the practical life aspect, that is individual buy things based on their economic condition, interest, culture and tradition rather than just advertisement. For instance a dress material and colour may suit the model in an advertisement, but it may not suit all the people. So people are not only influenced by the advertisement but also various other factors.

However some people argue that advertisement discourage individual to be unique. As there is a huge competition in the market all does not rely on one item, just because of the advertisement. Apart from this no individual can completely imitate another individual all the time. Hence advertisement does not completely influence a person.

To conclude in my opinion as there is lot of competition in the global market People buy various things according to their interest, economic condition, likes, tradition and so on. Hence advertisement does not make people to be or seem to be the same as their advertisement.