IELTS: the advertisement aimed at children should be restricted or even banned

Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

It is no doubt true that advertisements have become an inseparable part of modern business. While overwhelming majority of people hold an opinion that advertisements manipulate people, others claim that this way of marketing has been extremely beneficial for human beings. My opinion is more practical and worthy of being paid attention that will be known within the scope of my essay.

For a variety of reasons, advertising might be harmful for us. Firstly, advertisers aim their marketing at children, because youngsters can easily be influenced by adverts. As a consequence, every single child can put pressure on parents to buy them things that are unnecessary. Secondly, we are encouraged to follow the latest trends on a constant basis and therefore, we live in a consumer society. Advertisers use glamorous and successful people in order to attract customers. Finally, people are persuaded to associate certain brands with a higher status. Consequently, our culture is becoming materialistic day by day.

However, there do seem to be certain benefits that can easily outweigh its potential pitfalls. One must note that companies need to tell customers about the products they have. In this sense, advertisements help us to be informed about the choices we have. In addition, advertising is a creative industry that employs many people and hence, it helps to reduce the number of unemployment. Ultimately, adverts are paramount parts of free market economies, because they create demand for products. It has become a form of modern art and people enjoy adverts.

Having considered all the arguments above, it can be concluded that advertising is to be regulated and the advertisement aimed at children should be restricted or even banned. Governments should only censor false information or products that are harmful for humanity.