IELTS: are advantages of international exchange programs more than disadvantages?

Hello everyone,

I am new here, and I find this forum very useful. This is my essay, I hope someone could proofread it for me and give me some advice, greatly appreciate.

International exchange programs for teenage school students have more advantages than disadvantages. Do you agree or disagree?

exchange programs could greatly benefit students in many aspects

International exchange programs become increasingly popular these days. Some people think that such programs have more benefits than drawbacks to students. Personally, I agrees with this idea.

Gaining an opportunity to learn a new culture and a different language would be the primary benefits of joining an international exchange program for students. As most of them would stay with local families during the program, they would most likely involve in local residents` daily lives. Through the interaction, these youngsters could have a better understanding of their destination country`s traditions and cultures. Similarly, their second language would be greatly improved because they have to spend most of the time using it to communicate.

Another advantage for exchange students would be to develop their independent abilities. Staying in an alien country, these immature minds have to deal with many problems that they would never meet in their home countries. For example, with very limited local language and few friends, they may have to confront a sense of loneliness, and how to get on with local students. By overcoming these difficulties, they could better handle many problems in future studies or careers.

International exchange programs, however, also have some negative aspects. For example, the expenditure of such programs are often expensive. For many families, especially average ones, this expense could be a great financial burden. In addition, the tradition and culture of the students` destination countries would greatly differ to their own ones, thus many of them may feel alienated and homesick.

In conclusion, although international exchange programs cause some issues, they could greatly benefit students in many aspects. For example, they offer an opportunity to these students to learn a different culture and language while improving their independence. For this reason, I believe that advantages of such programs outweigh their disadvantages.