'The advantages of exam out ways its disadvantages' - Help for ielts essay

Topic

Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries.

Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In recent years there is a vast increase in discussions about how the examination systems should be at schools. Now students are undertaking too many tests and exams at school which do have many advantages both to the students and the teachers, but at the same time they also have certain drawbacks as well. The administration at schools need to think seriously about the outcomes of the examination systems they have, to test the students. In this essay I would like to give my own opinion after discussing both sides of the argument.

The first good thing about the exams and tests is that it is a method to test students how well they are learning from the lectures delivered in the class and how successful teachers are in conveying their knowledge. For instance, if a whole group of students shows poor grades in a subject then the teacher teaching that subject can be encouraged to work harder and improve his or her teaching skills to bring the students at the top. This is a strong point that favours the argument because teachers are the key figures in a school system and exams are mandatory to check their level of teaching.

The other, equally important factor in the favour of the issue is that exams encourage students as well to study, do more reading and writing and thus improving their general knowledge. If there are no exams and tests then students will not put any effort to learn and educate. Exams produces a state of terror that forces children to study. Moreover, exams bring students together, they do combine studies which help them to learn the essence of team work and they develop communication skill. Lastly, exams develop a sense of competition which also draws students towards books.

On the other hand, exams do have some disadvantages as well. The factor competition can be encouraging for some but it is a major factor that is causing immense pressure on the students and leading them to the state of depression. When students do not get good grades the are discouraged and at the same time they are forced, both by the teachers and the parents, to work hard putting them under more pressure. Now more and more students are involving in drug addiction to relieve from exam pressure.

To recapitulate, I concede that exams can be discouraging for the students in some ways but this does not mean that they should be removed from the system. The advantages of exam out ways its disadvantages. Students should be tested and then upgraded but at the same time weaker students should be given special help to improve.