IELTS Task 2: advantages and disadvantages of working mother

In some countries, it is common for women to find a job when their children are young. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Throughout the world, working mother is a phenomenon in the several countries. Many women become working mothers when the children are still young. This is occurring, because of growing economical pressure, personal preference and so forth. In this day and age, women are not restricted to be homemaker as compared to the past. There are the merits and the demerits which are being discuss in this essay.

For some people, there are some demerits of mother working which is giving bad impacts for developing children psychology. Firstly, children and their mothers seem to be less close nowadays. It is because mother spends less time with their children and working mother often works full time. As a result, children do not have enough time to share about their problems in school or about themselves. Secondly, children attempt to get affection, so children are more closely with their nannies of babysitters than their mother. Take one example in the dinner time, most of working mothers cannot serve the healthy meals for their children and family, not only meals but also an attention to keep warm the atmosphere at home. In the other way, youngsters spend more time with friends or surfing the internet to get well-being.

While some people critic claim that mother working has disadvantages for children, so I tend to say that working mother has some advantages for children and her family. First of all, there are many reasons why mothers choose to work when their children are still young. The first reason is cost of living which is more expensive in several countries. The second reason, women have the same opportunity to take place at managerial level in global company, because most of women are well-educated and well-qualified people recently. Moreover, mother working can give a contribution to pay basic needs in daily activity and education their children. Also, her salary becomes income to guarantee children living in as a wealthy people and working mother still can keep contact as deep as direct contact with mobile phone.

If we compare the condition in the past and nowadays is quite different. Long time ago the cost of living was cheaper than the cost of living at this time, so in the past only husband who held a responsibility to be breadwinner. However, recently the condition is the reverse where mothers also play an essential role in family to earn much money.

In conclusion, mother working will create advantages and disadvantages effect which will appear if they cannot divide the balance time between working and bring up their children.