advantages & disadvantages of high rise apartments - (IELTS essay)

Some say that people living in high-rise apartments are lonely and unhappy, while others say that it's advantageous to stay in high-rise apartments. Discuss advantages and disadvantages. Give your opinion.

Due to the increased demand of high rises and decreased availability of space, high rises are now mushrooming especially in cities. there are numerous advantages in living in a flat, the down side of this trend should not be neglected.

Undeniably, high rises satisfy the drastic demand of rentals in cities to an extent, they are excellent places for short stay. The prices of the flat are less compared to an individual house in the cities. Most importantly, it diminishes the demand of daily commuting and its associated stress and tensions. These places are blessings for people who are supposed to live and work away from their home. They can enjoy the facilities and high living standards, which are often offered by the urban life such as good hospitals, recreational facilities and so on. it relieves the stress of living away from their family members as they can enable to accommodate their family, dear and near ones with them. For instance, flats helps people to stay with their children and trim down the time of journey, fuel consumption, traffic block and all other related issues.

On the other hand, flats are place of congestion and insecurity, if not constricted and maintained in a good manner especially low rate flats. As these houses are following the same design, it is difficult to demolish or arrange according to the personal needs. Moreover, for anything and everything we have to depend on others and pay for it. For instance, the payment for water, removing garbage and transporting heavy things to and from the rooms payment is mandatory. As it is a high building it is away from the nature, and people may feel isolated. The neighborhood relations may vanish. Lack of proper parking facilities and relaxation facilities or loans may make their life more stressful. The disturbance from neighboring people may be resulted in lack of solitude and distraction in studies. For instance, if the neighbor is fond of playing T.V. louder, it may disturb the activities of all family members.

To conclude, it is undeniably true that, the high rises have both pros and cones. As far as I am concerned, I prefer to stay in flats for a short period, if it is unavoidable. Otherwise, I would like to live in individual houses.