IELTS Academic essay: Is nuclear energy is better source of power?

Nuclear energy is a better source of power for today's global energy needs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One great invention in energy production is nuclear power which produces huge amounts of energy from small amounts of fuel, without the pollution getting from burning fossil fuels. Although it offers a number of advantages in energy source and environment, it is also a dangerous technology which can be lead to a dreadful hazard to the world such as nuclear disaster. However, I strongly believe that the advantages of nuclear energy largely outweigh the disadvantages.

Although, nuclear energy produces less waste, loss of its would be a major disaster. As stated in scientific surveys, the radioactivity of leakage of atomic power is spent more than thousands of years to be die away. The radiation has large negative impacts on nature as well as human health. For example, we all know about the consequences of Chernobyl power plant accident.

On the other hand, nuclear power is acclaimed greatly by its environmental friendly aspect. Traditional ways of power production produces great amounts of smoke or carbon dioxide which is becoming one of main factor of global warming and environmental pollution. In contrast to this, nuclear energy does not produce this element, so it does not contribute to the greenhouse effect. Furthermore, nuclear energy uses small amounts of fuel to produce huge amounts of power. Therefore it is very useful since the natural resources are limited.

In summary, to keep our environment safe and friendly to live, we have to choose better ways of power production such as nuclear energy. Also we should keep looking for ways to make it safer.